Live Like We’re Dying

A couple of night ago, one of my closet friends Kisha sent me a text message with two words that rocked my world.

“She’s gone.”

I felt the words choked in my throat because I really didn’t want to believe that what she was saying was true.

My friend’s mom had passed away. The lady I always jokingly called Aunt Darlene was gone.

This was a shock for me because it just made it even more real how finite this life is. James 4:14 says “Yet you do not know what your life will be like tomorrow. You are just a vapor that appears for a little while and then vanishes away.”

Just like that.

I have had few instances of where I have lost people close to me. My aunt Diana, my great-grandmother Elizabeth, my uncle Frank. None were easy to deal with but at some point, the hurt became bearable enough to keep pushing forward with life. I wasn’t close to God when any of these loses happened so having someone I have known since I was in Jr. high school pass away makes me look at life through a different filter.

I smiled at the old memories of hanging out with Kisha and her family on the weekends when we were kids in Mississippi. Darlene was the coolest mom because she drove a fancy foreign car (a Saab but it was fancy and foreign in my 8th grade mind). She bought Kisha and I a bottle of Boone’s strawberry daiquiri and let us drink them out of wine glasses. She made the best collard greens on earth, told the funniest stories about Kisha and her sister growing up, wouldn’t mind driving half an hour to my house to pick up Kisha when we would plot to get detention together just to hang out with our favorite science teacher Mr. Coleman then slum around in my neighbor. Darlene never turned her nose up at me when I got became a mom at 17 like some of my other friends parents did. She always said with a matter of fact tone that “a baby don’t stop no show.”

I still say that very line to this day.

I don’t know if her heart belonged to Christ when she took her last breath. I hope it did. That’s what haunts me the most. I tend to get wrapped up in my own life, or trying to save the world while checking off my to do list, that I sometimes fail to think that people die every second of everyday. People that I know and love will die. I have to ask myself what am I doing with my time here on Earth if it’s not sharing the love of Jesus to someone whose just might be running out?

Life is but a vapor. With that thought, we should live like we are dying. Live like we really know that tomorrow is not promised and that we should make the most of the 86,400 second that we get each day to make an impact on someone in this world.

Are we living like we know we are going to die or are we just sticking our head in the sand thinking we have all the time in the world. We don’t. We each have a specific number of decades, years, months, weeks, days, minutes and seconds available to make the most of this life that we have been given by God.

Do what God has called you to do. He has a reason why He called you to do it.

Say “I love you” to the ones closest to you as often as you can.

Never pass up a chance to encourage, pray for and pray with someone.

God gives us second, third, fourth and fifth chances to get things right. His grace is endless and His forgiveness is constant. It’s never too late to make a change.

This song has been on repeat for a couple of days now. My reminder to live like I’m dying.

Leave a Reply

